S.O.S Soft Pretzels

http://celebrationgoddess.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/pretzels1.jpg  Certain recipes bring back sweet memories from my childhood, and this  soft pretzels recipe is one of them. 

– The first time i ever made these was when i was about 9 or 10yrs. old and  visiting a friends house for the day.  – My friend was older than I by about 5yrs, and so when we went to the kitchen, she made sure she wrapped my up in one of her pretty aprons and got me started making the dough while she set the oven temp. – I’ll always remember the best part… after the pretzels were done and we had finished the dishes… we each took a pretzel (or two) & milk  and went to watch Little House on the Prairie.
This is a memory that has stayed with me for years, and that is probably why i love these pretzels so much! They have good memories behind them! 😉

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups. All Purpose Flour
  • 1 heaping Tbsp. Yeast
  • 1 & 1/2 cups Warm Water
  • 1 Tbsp. Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. Honey
  • 1 Tsp. Salt
  • Raisins (optional)

Directions: Pour warm Water into a large mixing bowl, then sprinkle in the Yeast. Sift the Flour on top next, and then add the rest of the ingredients and stir until combined.  Once the dough is of a consistency that it can be handled, place it on a clean flat surface and kneed it until smooth (a few minuets or about 20 turns of the dough, then let it rest for a few minuets).  Next break off balls of dough and roll into 12 inch lengths.  Shape them  into a pretzel, or just fold them into a design that floats your boat ( brush with butter & sprinkle with salt or cinnamon sugar-  or whatever else you think might be good!. 🙂  Bake @ 350 degrees, on a lightly greased cookie sheet for 10-12 minuets. 

Happy Baking & Bon Appètit!

[Image via Google Image]
2 thoughts on “S.O.S Soft Pretzels

  1. I LOVED reading your memories with this post. It made me think that often times when we do things with little people we are making a memory of some kind. I liked hearing about your memories with your friend. Some of MY favorite memories are baking with one of my aunts as a little girl. EVERYTHING we made together always tasted so good. 🙂 I think it helped win my hubbys heart. Well, maybe not but I like to think that. I used to love baking with my aunt and then sending the goodies to my (soon to be) husband. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying the little memo’s/story’s and such… – i try to make my posts interesting, and by adding a bit more of a personal touch to them i think it makes them more fun to read! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave me a comment! :)

